Uttam seeks higher compensation for flood loss

Hyderabad, Oct. 21 : Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy on Wednesday said that the state government should increase the amount for flood relief from `500 crore to ` 5,000 crore.

Uttam Kumar Reddy was discussing the issue while addressing the members of the TPCC core committee, which met at Pragnapur in Gajwel constituency on Tuesday night in the presence of AICC in-charge of Telangana affairs, Manickam Tagore. The committee discussed various issues including the flood situation in Telangana, distress in the agriculture sector and the Kalwakurthy lift irrigation scheme.

“A number of issues such as huge misery and loss of life, property and agricultural crops and the inadequate response of state and Central governments were discussed. The committee passed resolutions on various issues unanimously,” said Uttam Kumar Reddy. It was decided to write to Prime Minister Narendra Modi to demand that the present situation in Telangana be declared a national calamity, he said.

The Congress party condemned the negligent attitude of Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao who did not even once tour flood affected areas of Hyderabad and neighbouring districts.

Congress demanded that the amount sanctioned by the state government for flood relief be increased from `500 to `5,000 crore while an ex-gratia of `25 lakh be given to families which had lost a member due to rains and floods. For houses damaged fully due to floods, a compensation of `5 lakh must be given while `2 lakh be provided as compensation for partially damaged houses. The Congress also demanded that all houses in areas where flood water had entered be provided with a compensation of `50,000.

Mr Reddy said that the state government must immediately take up enumeration of crop damages due to rains and floods. “For all farmers whose crops were damaged extensively, `20,000 per acre must be released immediately, including tenant farmers,” he demanded.

A PCC sub-committee was formed to review all aspects of the Kalwakurthy lift irrigation scheme and recommend future course of action. It comprises CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, MP A. Revanth Reddy, MLC T. Jeevan Reddy, MLA D. Sridhar Babu, former ministers Ponnala Lakshmaiah and P. Sudarshan Reddy, AICC secretaries Dr. G. Chinna Reddy, S.A. Sampath Kumar and Ch. Vamshichand Reddy and former MP Dr. Mallu Ravi. AICC secretary Madhu Yashki Goud will oversee relief measures on behalf of the Congress, Mr Uttam Reddy added.



Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button