National selectors to meet early next week to finalise squad for South Africa tour

Sri Lanka Cricket (board) will convene the first meeting of the new selection committee on Monday or Tuesday, it is learnt here.

According to the Colombo-based sources, the invitation to all seven selectors was sent on Saturday.

SLC, on Saturday announced the names of new selection committee comprising seven members :  

(1)  Asantha De Mel – Chairman (2)  Chaminda Mendis (3)  Pramodya Wickramasinghe (4)  M.A.W.R. Madurasinghe (5)  Ms. T. Nilmini Gunarathne (6)  Hemantha Devapriya and (7)  S.H.U. Karnain.

The selectors' immediate task would be to select the squad for the South Africa tour.

Chaminda Mendis, one member of the committee may not physically remain present as he is a member of the LPL technical committee but the chairman may seek his views over the telephone.

The views from the Head Coach will also be sought over the photo or conference. Dimouth Karunratne, not part of the LPL is likely to be consulted before the final squad is announced.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button

Please disable your ad blocker

We know you are here for the stories. Not the ads. But we need the ads to keep the lights on. So please whitelist