680 in fray for 10 East Godavari municipalities

KAKINADA: Approximately, 680 candidates are contesting in 10 municipalities, including three nagara panchayats in East Godavari district. With 86 in the fray, the highest number of candidates in a single seat are battling for Pithapuram municipality. There are 72 candidates in Amalapuram, 76 in Mandapeta, Peddapuram( 83), Samalkot(75 ), Ramachandrapuram (65), Tuni (67), Gollaprolu (53), Mummidivaram (47) and 56 candidates in Yeleswaram nagara panchayats.

YSRC is contesting in 261, Telugu Desam in 202, Jana Sena (75), Congress (7), CPM (6), CPI (3), and BJP (35) while BSP is contesting in one ward. 

Meanwhile, in Amalapuram municipality, six of 30 wards have become unanimous.

A total of 174 candidates are contesting in Eluru Municipal Corporation elections. The break-up is 14 from BJP, four each from CPI and Congress, Jana Sena (21), Telugu Desam (43), and YSR Congress (49) while 38 are contesting as independents.

A voters awareness rally was organized in Kovvuru by RDO K. Lakshma Reddy on Thursday. He convened a meeting with political party candidates and urged them to strictly follow the model code of conduct. Those guilty of violating it would be dealt with.

He asked the people to approach Kovvuru police or municipal officials for any election-related matters. Municipal Commissioner T.V. Sudhakar, Town Inspector M.V.S.N. Murthy, Sub-Inspector K. Venkata Ramana and P. Ravindra were present.

Meanwhile, Jangareddygudem municipal commissioner Sravan Kumar said that a special help desk has been set up in the municipal office to deal with election-related complaints.



Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button