Eve Jones captains first PCA Women’s Team of the Year

Central Sparks and Birmingham Phoenix batter Eve Jones has been named as captain of the first ever PCA Women’s Team of the Year.

Jones, 29, took the honour after scoring over 800 runs in all formats of the women’s domestic game this season for Central Sparks and Birmingham Phoenix.

She is joined in the side by cinch PCA Women’s Young Player of the Year Alice Capsey, as well as Emma Lamb and Emily Arlott, who both received their first England call-ups this year.

In all, seven of the eight women’s regional centres have representatives in the team.

Each player, who will receive a personalised winner’s medal, was selected via the PCA Most Valuable Player (MVP) Rankings, with a new statistical algorithm producing the Overall MVP table in 2021.

The Overall MVP takes into account performances in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, the Charlotte Edwards Cup and The Hundred to produce the players who had the biggest impact throughout the season in all competitions.

For a second year in a row, Essex’s Simon Harmer captains the IG PCA Men’s Team of the Year.

The cinch PCA Men’s Young Player of the Year is recognised with Harry Brook filling a spot in the team’s middle-order, while David Bedingham and Luke Fletcher, who like Harmer were shortlisted for the cinch PCA Men’s Player of the Year, also make the cut.

Fletcher took the most wickets in the LV= Insurance County Championship this year with 66, and the Championship’s top run-scorer, Sussex youngster Tom Haines, is also included at the top of the order after compiling 1,176 red-ball runs.

At the other end of the age spectrum, 45-year-old Vitality Blast winner Darren Stevens claims one of the all-rounder spots.

PCA Women’s Team of the Year

Eve Jones (c) [Central Sparks, Birmingham Phoenix]

Georgia Adams (Southern Vipers, Oval Invincibles)

Emma Lamb (Thunder, Manchester Originals)

Alice Capsey (South East Stars, Oval Invincibles)

Sophie Luff (Western Storm, Welsh Fire)

Bryony Smith (South East Stars, Welsh Fire)

Abbey Freeborn (wk) [Lightning, Trent Rockets]

Kate Cross (Thunder, Manchester Originals)

Emily Arlott (Central Sparks, Birmingham Phoenix)

Linsey Smith (Northern Diamonds, Northern Superchargers)

Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers, Southern Brave)

PCA Men’s Team of the Year

Jake Libby (Worcestershire)

Tom Haines (Sussex)

Ricardo Vasconcelos (wk) [Northamptonshire]

David Bedingham (Durham, Birmingham Phoenix)

Harry Brook (Yorkshire, Northern Superchargers)

Matt Critchley (Derbyshire, Welsh Fire)

Darren Stevens (Kent)

Simon Harmer (c) [Essex]

Craig Overton (Somerset, Southern Brave)

Luke Fletcher (Nottinghamshire, Welsh Fire)

Sam Cook (Essex, Trent Rockets)


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button